RSS feed

news & views

Global Artrakers unleashed on International Peace Day

8 September 2013

Artists use their soft-power as weapons for peace

Artraker, the world’s first Conflict Art award is to be given on 21 September 2013 (International Peace Day) and hosted by Martin Bell, OBE.  The Artraker prize awards impactful artwork from some of the most dangerous conflict areas around the world.

The competition attracted 300 submissions from 90 countries covering many geopolitical hotspots. Themes tackled by the 18 shortlisted artists include a day in the life of a Syrian ‘freedom fighter’, the uncensored casualty chain of UK soldiers in Afghanistan, the fate of 200000 ‘comfort women’ during WW2, and drawings from the memories of a Ugandan child soldier.

The Artraker Fund is the not-for-profit brainchild of political artist, Manali Jagtap-Nyheim, and was officially established by the conflict resolution firm INCAS Consulting Ltd in 2012. Artraker, being the first of its kind, has the intention of becoming the home for powerful conflict art and artists.

“Having worked in conflict areas such as the Niger Delta, I’m a firm believer that art has a unique ability to provide unexpected insight and understanding, while breaking new ground in how we build peace.”Manali Jagtap-Nyheim

Artraker’s aim is therefore to elevate both the prominence of artists working on conflict art, and the value of their art to understanding conflict. In doing so, we hope to inspire and shape how people and organisations engage and respond to conflicts.

The concept ‘Artraker’ draws inspiration from the term “Muckraker”, a term coined by President Theodore Roosevelt in 1906 in reference to the adversarial journalistic movement that investigated and published truthful reports on social issues.

18 entrants made the shortlist for the 2013. More information about each of these candidates can be found at

–       Assadullah Baran Bromand (Afghanistan)*

–       Amirhossein Bayani (Syria)

–       Oksana Chepelyk (Bosnia & Herzegovina, Russia, Ukraine, USA)

–       David Cotterrell (Pakistan)

–       First Floor Gallery Harare (Zimbabwe)

–       Alexandra Handal (Palestine)

–       Alana Hunt (Indian occupied Kashmir)

–       Valentina Curandi and Nathaniel Katz (Queens, Sarajevo, Bosnia, Herzegovina)

–       Chang-Jin Lee (Korea, Japan, China)

–       Emeric Lhuisset (Syria, Iraq, Colombia)

–       Rozhgar Mustafa (Iraq)

–       Issa Nyaphaga (Cameroon)

–       Vincent Okuja (Uganda)

–       Christine Renaudat (Colombia)

–       Elvira Santamaria Torres (Colombia)

–       Nida Shams (Pakistan)

–       Lalage Snow (Afghanistan)

–       Alexia Webster (South Africa)

* Please note the countries mentioned here refer to the Conflict Areas / Countries of reference and not where the Artist reside